Five Sub Routes

The Stellenbosch wine region is divided into sub-routes to make for user-friendly exploration. The regions – Greater Simonsberg, Stellenbosch Berg, Stellenbosch Valley, Helderberg and Bottelary Hills – are defined by their physical location and their borders not bear any relation to the legislated Wine of Origin system or wards within the Stellenbosch region.
Seen from above, the structure of the sub-route system resembles a series of wedges that radiate outwards with Stellenbosch town as its centre. The routes are bordered by the N1 highway in the north, Hottentots Holland mountains in the east, False Bay in the south, and the Cape metropolitan area.
The sub-routes were incorporated in 2002, and the destination marketing organisation added an “s” to its name.