Celebrating Excellence: Stellenbosch Wine Route's Victorious Streak at Wine Awards!

Celebrating Excellence: Stellenbosch Wine Route’s Victorious Streak at Wine Awards!

In recent months, the Stellenbosch Wine Route has been a shining star on the wine scene, as its members continue to secure prestigious awards at various esteemed wine shows. These accomplishments reflect the region’s commitment to producing exceptional wines that capture the essence of the terroir and the artistry of the winemakers.

2023 SA Terroir Awards:

One of the noteworthy achievements came from the SA Terroir Awards, where the 2018 Alto Cabernet Sauvignon stood out and claimed the title of SA Terroir Top Wine. This recognition underscores the wine’s exceptional expression of its terroir, showcasing the unique characteristics of the Stellenbosch region.

SA Shiraz Challenge:

The 11th annual Shiraz SA Challenge, saw both veterans and newcomers impress the judges. Among the top 12 Shiraz wines of 2023 was the Flagstone Dark Horse Shiraz 2019, produced by one of Stellenbosch Wine Routes newer members. To make the achieved even greater, the Flagstone Velvet 2017 was included amongst the top 3 winning Shiraz blend. Both of these exceptional wines from Flagstone Wines demonstrate a dynamic approach to winemaking.

Investec Trophy Wine Show:

The Investec Trophy Wine Show stands as a resplendent stage where the excellence of wines is celebrated and acknowledged. The Stellenbosch Wine Route members left an undisputable mark and truly shone at this renowned tasting, with 4 wineries securing coveted trophies that highlight their dedication to crafting exceptional wines.

Trophy for Best Museum Class Cabernet Sauvignon: Eikendal Cabernet Sauvignon 2013

Investec Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon: The Neil Ellis Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon 2019

The Rosa Kruger Trophy for Best Old Vine Wine and the Harold Eedes Trophy for Best Chenin Blanc: Zevenwacht Z Collection Chenin Blanc 2022

The Sunday Times Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc: Zevenwacht Z Collection Sauvignon Blanc 2022

Absa Vintage Pinotage Excellence Awards:

The Absa Vintage Pinotage Excellence Awards took place in July 2023, celebrating the exceptional achievements of South African winemakers. This event brings together influential wine journalists and industry experts to acknowledge the dedication, artistry, and legacy encapsulated in these remarkable wines.

Among the noteworthy winners, the Stellenbosch Wine Route’s members have made their mark with their outstanding Vintage Pinotage wines.

Beyerskloof Wines: Winemaker Anri Truter’s expertise shines through in the 2013 Beyerskloof Diesel Pinotage, the 2013 Beyerskloof Pinotage Reserve, and the 2012 Beyerskloof Pinotage Reserve.

Flagstone Wines: Under the guidance of Winemaker Gerhard Swart, the 2006 Flagstone Writer’s Block Pinotage stands as a testament to the winery’s commitment to crafting exceptional wines.

Kanonkop Wine Estate: With Winemaker Abrie Beeslaar at the helm, Kanonkop’s 2005 Kanonkop Pinotage showcases the estate’s legacy and expertise in Pinotage winemaking.

Lanzerac Wine Estate: Winemaker Wynand Lategan’s contributions are evident in the 2012 Lanzerac Pinotage, the 2010 Lanzerac Pioneer Pinotage, the 1993 Lanzerac Pinotage, and the 2008 Lanzerac Pioneer Pinotage.

Congratulations to all! These accomplishments serve as a testament to the Stellenbosch Wine Route’s dedication to excellence and innovation in the world of winemaking and fine wines.